The Belfry WebComics Index

Recent Reviews:

03:25am 02/07/2016
Stong female leads in a mature storyline
At it's heart, this is a story about the lengths that people go to to hide the truth about themselves from the people that care for them. The characters fail to tell each other what they really think, they hold their secrets close, they love, they're flawed.. they're human. The central characters are dynamic and likeable, the story works. Read it.
12:26pm 02/05/2016
I'm at that age now..
Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy explosions and fart jokes as much as ever, but there was a time when a comic like "For better or for worse" really irritated me. I just didn't get it. It wasn't funny. I just wanted to se cats kicking dogs off tables and kids getting their clothes knocked off by baseballs.
Now I'm reading "Caz the Comic Strip", and I get it. And it is funny. It's that great conversation you have at brunch with your friends, or that running gag you have with your folks. Add in some nerdy references for fun, like Star Wars or dr. Who, and this comic is perfectly simple box of smiles. I highly recommend you get to know these guys.
04:43am 01/20/2016
(Unrated)
  i Third Revolution A
Deviant art is the worst
Like i said, Deviant art is one of worst sites to host a webcomic if you arent even going to segregate your crap into different folders.
04:42am 01/12/2016
 
  i *Stolen Generation ALNVX
If Aussies ruled the world...
Stolen Generation begins on a novel premise: inspired by the forced removal of Australian and Torres Strait Aborigine children from their families, the comic imagines an alternate history where marsupial mammals have been hunted virtually to extinction by the so-called "placentals", the survivors living in secret communities for centuries afterward, never forgetting and never forgiving. At an unspecified date in the near future, a cabal of combat-trained revolutionaries piloting giant mechanized suits launches a revenge campaign that plunges the world into a devastating war. The resulting story is a mix of racial antipathy, personal dramas, and to a much lesser extent, national political ambitions.

I first read this comic several years ago and was ready to give it a full five stars, but when the original host went down, my initial review stalled. Re-reading it now with a fresh mind and more critical eye, does it still hold up to those early impressions? Yes and no; overall the project remains as socially relevant as I recall, but the little errors have become much more noticeable, even before what both then and now is the story's postwar crash and burn. Fair warning: this review is likely to contain blatant spoilers.

While the archive at SmackJeeves is dated 2007–8, Stolen Generation began several years before, and represents some of the artist's earliest published work. A handful of pages were later coloured, but the vast majority is done in simple ink sketching, which I personally prefer: the asceticism complements the plot's ever-present sense of tension, highlights detail without becoming distracting, and ironically-if-unwittingly underscores the story's central theme that the world doesn't live in black-and-white. While quality of both the illustrations and the page scans themselves vary widely, especially at the start, facial expressions are sharp and emotive, and even in mass fleet battles the action is drawn crisp and clear. My biggest complaint is that the text, all handwritten, is often hard to read.

There are four principal characters to Stolen Generation: Rumour, a teen-aged thylacine and eager revolutionary; Novus, a misanthropic war veteran suborned into the Marsupial revolution after rescuing her; Duncan, the insurgents' de facto leader and anti-Placental zealot; and Dr. Burret, a sadistic scientist secretly orchestrating the war as part of a dubious social engineering experiment. Accompanying them are numerous supporting characters that present a kaleidoscopic variety of moral perspectives, motivations, and racial attitudes, ranging from genocidal fanatics to, ironically, a pacifist pilot. Unfortunately, aside from Rumour's older brother Keith the secondary cast receives scant development, and even the leads occasionally slip into Flanderized caricature.

One of the comic's main plot lines is the will-they-won't-they romance between Rumour and Novus that explores both the prevailing racial tensions and the question of 'What is love?' generally. Especially noteworthy for a furry comic, genetic (in)compatibility is a major plot point, and they often find themselves questioning whether this precludes a future together. At the same time the writing veers in and out of melodrama worthy of Coronation Street and Novus in particular sometimes proves more the angsty teen than Rumour, it is a refreshing counterpoint to the love-at-first-sight trope, and the doubts are believable enough that one -isn't- sure whether they'll ultimately get together.

A related plot line, so subtle it might be unintentional, is the notion of restoring faith to someone stripped of hope. Rumour supplies this to Novus early on, but it's also mirrored by Duncan's mistress Rena, the insurmountable counterpoint to his anti-Placental bigotry that keeps him from devolving into an incurable génocidaire. As a microcosm of the war, these pairs are especially sharp hooks for reader pathos: so long as hope remains, global coexistence is in reach; what bleak future should then befall the world if the couplings fail?

Needless to say, heady themes underlie Stolen Generation. Racial discourse is nothing new in furry comics, but here it receives a nuance and maturity surpassing several more popular titles—in the broader sense, at least. Clumsy dialogue undermines an otherwise superior narrative with redundant, wordy exposition and suspense-killing mental asides, and as previously mentioned the romantic arcs struggle with obtuse melodrama. (There are also several setting and technical inconsistencies mostly pertaining to scenes involving the world powers, but these are largely incidental to the story itself.) I find this particularly regrettable because while the comic raises more debate-worthy subjects than I can properly explore here, it only scratches the surface of most of them before the war gets underway and it shifts into an action film.

Thankfully, despite its mature rating, Stolen Generation is neither gratuitous in its violence nor exploitative in its sexuality. Indeed, while lasers and explosions abound, actual bodily violence is fairly rare and used for effect: a flashback scene features a torture sequence that, despite being less explicit than a casual fight much later on, conveys such a brutal mood that even now my eyes avert the page. Likewise, the comic offers a fair share of titillation, yet the sex scenes themselves are quite restrained, if not glossed over; possibly a commentary on love meaning more than lust, possibly simply to keep the audience's focus on the emotional relationship.

The story divides into five official chapters, although I consider what follows Duncan's climactic confrontation with Dr. Burret an act in itself, and hands-down my least favourite section. As a whole it is well-paced, never becoming frantic nor slowing to a plod, though there are a few moments where dialogue infers several days or weeks have been fast-forwarded that could have been used for 'breather' moments to expound on any of the topics alluded above. The comic does a good job of introducing the characters in a logical and progressive way so that the reader isn't swamped by names and factions, establishing their histories and personalities while outlining the social context in which the impending war takes place. Despite the mechas' early appearances the war plot doesn't begin in earnest until late in Chapter 2, after which the story basically becomes one continuous but well-choreographed battle, interspersed with several personal side-stories and one arc that grows into a major plot point. Unfortunately this is where the narrative sags under clichéd writing—arguments over Placental 'sin' read like articles in a debate rather than personal conviction; genre-savvy readers will suspect Natasha's re-emergence, making the emotional see-saw between Rumour and Novus all the more infuriating—but the fifth chapter rallies strong for a gripping, and ultimately rewarding reckoning between Duncan and Burret to settle the historical score.

And then it completely drops the ball.

As much as I wish it did, the story -doesn't- end at Echelon University. It doesn't even begin dénouement. Toward the war's end the protagonists learn that the Marsupial advantage has nothing to do with Burret's hypothesis, but is a wildcard variable in the form of progenitor technology, and the story now trips over itself to smooth this Deus ex Machina into a believable sequel hook. All the criticisms I've raised are amplified exponentially, and unnervingly quickly, in what feels like a rush to tie it all together: just as we think the romance is finally settled, Rumour is struck by seventh thoughts and abruptly declares they're Just Friends; complex, longstanding social issues are answered with dangerously simplistic solutions; characters we thought we understood dumb down into self-parodies; whatever dialogue isn't emotionally dead is laughably over-exaggerated. In writing my original review I debated whether to count the end sequence in the comic's final score, because it's done so ham-handedly one could be forgiven for thinking it belongs to a different author.

Credit where it's due: making the Marsupial victory Pyrrhic and enforcing the New World Order through military might in an ironic role-reversal is both realistic, and a damning testament to the destructive cycle of so-called retributive justice. Similarly, I'm not saying the romantic leads -need- to get together in the end, and as previously stated, Rumour and Novus' future remained genuinely uncertain for most of the story. My problem is the execution goes out of its way to turn everything on its head, thereby shattering immersion. Kylee's fate, though poetic, is totally arbitrary, and one of the most pointlessly cruel character kill-offs I've ever seen. Arcane technology may not have been the -cleverest- way to scuttle Burret's abominable experiment, but with better planning it could have worked without coming across as such an arbitrary twist; instead it ends up hijacking the plot's coat-tails to set the stage for a sadly underwhelming sequel. A story acclaimed for its drama, wit, and tightly-woven narrative ends hysterical, derivative, and without meaningful closure.

In the end I still give Stolen Generation four stars, but it is a generous four, commemorating its ambition more so than its overall cohesion. Commendable for its aversion to clear-cut happy endings and willingness to confront history's long shadows in realistic terms, it remains an engrossing and entertaining story with a wry, understated sense of humour, despite occasionally clichéd writing and a contrived central plot device. While the comic's abysmal end sequence makes a mockery of the project, it may yield useful background information to the sequel, Restored Generation; otherwise, read to Page 350 and then imagine your own resolution.
04:51am 01/10/2016
 
  i *Nerf Now AV
4 stars for gamers
There is really nothing for you if you aren't into gaming.

But if you are, it is up to date, cute, funny, and there is a good dose of variety as well.

There are some VERY strong silent arcs, but they are becoming unfortunately rare. This is a shame because they were the best part of the comic.

Compared to Penny Arcade, this is FAR more accessible to casual gamers. You don't have to be on the absolute leading edge yourself, and the author often explains strips if the basis isn't common knowledge.
05:31am 01/07/2016
 
  i *Sandra & Woo L
Treading water
How the mighty have fallen. Intrigued by the old banner ad proclaiming it the best start to a webcomic so-and-so had seen, I looked into Sandra & Woo; and while it was hardly the most amazing comic I'd come across, it had a wit and whimsy that quickly made it one of my 'regulars'. The animé-esque art style was both solid and emotive, plot-wise it was well-paced, and it rolled out a diverse cast of characters that all signs indicated would -not- be beholden to the typical status quo treadmill.

And then it did exactly that.

Whereas S&W's introduction strongly suggests this was to be be a slice-of-life comic that actually -progressed-, with the main characters weaving their way through imaginative adventures, these days it's a patchwork of largely-unconnected geek humour, in-jokes, and absurdist non-sequiturs. The burnout was so gradual that until Lamar's review, I couldn't quite figure out what had been nagging at me for the past couple years, but comparing the story's start to just about any of the later arcs reveals a clear loss of direction. Sandra's budding romance with Cloud, the comic's original long-arc, stagnated once they made it official; Ye Thuza's history as a Burmese resistance fighter receives occasional mention but is never fleshed out; dozens of minor characters drift in and out of the spotlight with no build-up and equally scant send-off, while the leads are tide-locked to throwaway episodes based on their respective social stereotype. The last plotline with any sense of gravity I can recall was Butterfly's ascent of The Special One, and that took place two years ago.

What perplexes me is that the creators are -smart- (indeed, possibly too smart at times), and the continued use of unflinching (if increasingly exaggerated) socio-political commentary proves the stall isn't for lack of guile. It may be that Powree and Novil's sister project Gaia has laid claim to the bulk of their narrative inspiration, although this still doesn't fully explain S&W's slide into newspaper-daily caricature, or why a comic that began by subverting common character clichés now seems to blindly embrace them.

To be clear, even taken as a gag-a-day strip Sandra & Woo stands above average—not as great as it could be, but hardly bad, and generally widely accessible when Novil isn't trying to out-nerd Randall Munroe. Readers accustomed to the regular four-panel setup may be confused by its novel trick of bleeding the punchline into the next page, but the comic can at least be commended for still experimenting stylistically even if the story has grown stale (indeed, the strips satirizing the art community remain my favourites). An audience following the early promise of a more substantial project, however, is bound for disappointment, and as other reviews show, long-time followers are losing patience. I still check up on S&W each update, but I'm starting to wonder why.
06:15am 11/29/2015
 
  i Flora A
Very tough to review...
Flora is many things.
It is a traditional comic, it is a visual novel, it is video, it is a world provided to adventure in.

If you are looking for an RPG setting, Flora offers explicit information on many races, and on many locations. Rather than focusing on one aspect of the world, skips around to various characters to flesh out a broad spectrum of lore.

But if you are here JUST for the webcomic, it will mostly likely feel unfocused. Just when the "Seeds" arc starts to heat up, it is abandoned for later. Some of the arcs resolve in unclear ways. There is tons of lore between the story updates. There are interesting stories that I've enjoyed, but I can't help but wish we could get the author's full attention.

If you want to start at the very beginning and progress in creation order, go here:
http://floraverse.com/comic/seeds-a-mini-story/prologue/1-cover/

Even though humor is not the driving reason to come to flora, I've laughed many times. If you are interested, be ready to be confused, and able to release any anxiety about what is happening!
05:58am 10/30/2015
(Unrated)
  i *Phoebe & Her Unicorn
First page
Gocomics is run by idiots. Since they forgot to put in a "first page" button, here is the link.

http://www.gocomics.com/phoebe-and-her-unicorn/2012/04/22
09:04pm 09/21/2015
Phenomenal comic!
There is a lot of good, very good and excellent comics, but Schlock is phenomenal. It is funny as hell, for the good part of chapters. Later it becomes more elaborate, with excellent art and story. Not one time it was boring, and I really wanted to see what happens next.

I really didn't think that I will ever feel the same affection to a piece of work like the first time I was watching Red Dwarf or Futurama.

It is absolutely brilliant, and if this review will make you read it, start from beginning.
05:26am 09/01/2015
 
  i *Dragon's Burn AL
very odd...in a good way
The main character's wildly swinging attitude around the axis of complete selfishness is a sight to behold. His attitude is the star of the show here.

The audacity to move into another's home without asking...
The complete lack of concern for others...
Confidence beyond my wildest dreams...
The general ability to "personality" his way out of anything...

I'm not really sure how to put that last one, but it feels right.

Give it a try. The early comics (first 10) are a good example of the comic at large.
09:57pm 08/19/2015
 
  i *100% Cat
Ended too early!
Lets face it, Isabel Marks is a prolific and strong story teller. letting one project drop isn't the end of the world.

This comic is only 26 strips, and has been abandoned.

Fortunately, the characters return in "Nicole & Derek", which is a very good comic and currently ongoing. Check that one out instead, or rush through this as a preview of it!
09:32pm 08/19/2015
Another strong Isabel Marks comic
To see a list of all Isabel's comics, go here:
http://www.ndunlimited.com/

It's a sequel to the very good "Namir Deiter", but you don't have to have read it.

Isabel's characters are interesting due to their complexity. No one is just the screw up. NO one is just the nerdy intelligent person. No one is just the responsible person who has it all figured out. Heck, even the crazy princess chick has more going on than unexplainable enthusiasm and a delusion.

Pretty much all the characters have respect for each other, and the conflict and story lines arise out of realistic events. This gives the comic a comfy slice of life feel that makes each character endearing in their own way. Even the teacher and the biggest slacker have a unique relationship.

It is just nice to have a well thought out story that feels real without tons of cliches. It might not wow you, but its a good comic for when you just need a read that will make you smile.
10:35pm 08/06/2015
 
  i *Original Life Mod AL
Truly better days
Given the essay I wrote in review of Better Days, when I learned Jay Naylor had started a sequel almost immediately afterward, I knew my work was cut out. Despite my initial trepidation, however, I was pleasantly surprised to find the new comic less politically polarizing and generally better-structured than its forbear.

In short, Original Life is Better Days as it should have been. In the previous comic I complained that Fisk and Lucy were adults in children's bodies; here their kids act like -kids-, their imaginative antics and philosophical quandaries more evocative of Calvin and Hobbes than a right-wing Boondocks—at least for the most part. Given the age range of the participant characters, the story still drifts in and out of mature themes, but the humour doesn't depend on sexual vulgarity the way it did in Better Days.

There is also more of a free flow to the story itself. Whereas Better Days was compartmentalized into somewhat self-contained chapters, aside from setting changes there is no hard break between arcs time-wise, and more fluid call-backs to previous events. This is probably at least in part because Original Life isn't working to a 'longue durée' timeline, and so can indulge in life simply as it comes. Indeed, while there are several sober arcs scattered throughout, the comic as a whole feels much more upbeat, and while some plots seem like rehashes from Better Days, as a whole I found it a more enjoyable read. It may not share the same sense of over-arching purpose, but this is not a qualitative drawback.

Original Life does, inevitably, inherit its predecessor's controversial moral outlook (explained at length in the Better Days review), and propagates it as soon as the first arc. Thankfully, the proselytizing is much less prevalent and generally recognizable, and while the libertarian bias will still irk some readers, I didn't feel as though I had to stay on guard all the time. Naylor also introduces a noteworthy gender discourse several times in the story, of which I have mixed opinion: while he provides a sympathetic, if simplified window into the LGBT world, he does so under the old stereotype that male and female brains are distinguished, essentially, by propensity to aggression and directness of action. Charlie overcomes her shyness by acting like a 'boy', turning off her analytical 'female' brain and embracing the instinctive 'male' brain, which she later describes as the "purity of intent"—tacitly implying that women are psychologically biased against 'direct' thought, a premise contradicted by several of the comic's own characters.

Standing out against Naylor's usual moral pronouncements is the backstory to Fisk's working partner Red Mallory (pp.404–417), which offers a far more nuanced, far more compelling exploration of the long-term psychological damage from child abuse than "Tough Love" and its follow-up in Better Days. It is also the first time Naylor offers a legitimate counter-argument to his own moral paradigm. Red calls herself a monster, knows she's permanently scarred, and recognizes the perverse way that her trauma has made her a lucrative assassin. Fisk admits as such, nominating her for recruitment based on two credentials: that she lacked the inhibitions to kill her own father, and that she had the guile to cover it up. He tries to reassure her that they're in the right, but she -doesn't- believe morality is simply a matter of individual choice, nor that her turbulent experience justifies her behaviour, and remains haunted that the only real difference between her and her targets is the fact they aren't on the same side.

In conclusion, Original Life is a worthy sequel to Better Days, and a better-written project overall. It also benefits from a crisper (albeit still background-averse) digitized art style. Original Life may not aspire to the grand narrative of its predecessor, but the story overall is more fun, and the characters more believable. While Naylor's soapboxing remains problematic, it is not as heavy-handed here, and I am more willing to recommend the comic -with similar reservation- to a general audience.
01:24pm 08/04/2015
by ntp
 
  i *Weesh
funny and endearing
Imagine a slice of life comic with a "wish granting rabbit" Okay he's not a rabbit but close enough.
The only upside to finding this after it completed was binge reading. I'm sorry it's over.
06:05am 08/04/2015
 
  i *Tale of Tails, a ALNVX
Erotic fantasy, with heart
Sexcapades start this story, and sexcapades remain a prominent feature throughout. Thankfully, A Tale of Tails is not, as the opening chapter suggests, merely a series of pornographic encounters strung together by a threadbare plot, but a comic with a vision; sometimes thrilling, sometimes sober, and always fun. Chapter 2 already begins unveiling the larger world, specifically the arcane forces at work in the realm and the protagonist Fenfen's mysterious heritage. Eroticism is counterbalanced by everyday foibles and the quintessential adventure quest, and already the story includes a diverse and readily-personable cast of characters, only some of whom want to get into Fenfen's pants. While the author, Feretta, admits the sex scenes can be skipped without losing the gist of the story, they are not entirely gratuitous, providing subtle character development and clues to plot devices.

A graphic designer by trade, Feretta began this comic as artistic practice, and it shows: while nowhere near deficient at the start, the style very quickly develops proportional consistency, and even after figuring out a basic template she continues to experiment throughout. The result strikes a harmonious balance between cartoon simplicity and elegant detail—an important feat when half the pages are dedicated to characters in the buff—with the added bonus that several sequences convey their own aesthetic personality as she tests different techniques.

What also shows is that this is Feretta's first stab at a comic narrative. Unlike so many high fantasy stories that can spend entire chapters pouring out exposition, A Tale of Tails focuses instead on the 'now', using short, conversational dialogue, revealing backstories in bits and pieces as the scene calls, and sometimes brushing over it entirely. This is both good and bad: the lack of long, explanatory interludes gives the comic a quick, almost frantic pace, and despite having only started Chapter 3 as of this writing, much ground has already been covered plot-wise. It also means that, unfortunately, a sizable amount of character development is inferred rather than shown, leaving the audience with fractured glimmers into Fenfen's (not to mention other characters') psychology—leading to not unjustified complaints in Chapter 2 that she comes across as a Mary-Sue, and prompting the emergency rewrite of a dubious scene midway through said chapter. Feretta clearly has a plan for the story, and the companion section on lore provides a wealth of information not yet seen in the comic proper; in this sense she may be racing through an extensive backstory to focus on the meat of the plot, but if she takes the time to explore her actors' thoughts and feelings in greater depth, it will only enrich the audience's experience with what are already personable characters.

In sum: come for the sex, stay for everything else. A Tale of Tails is a clever mix of quirky humour, fantastic adventure, and if it's to your taste, unflinching sexuality. While the hurried pace and resulting uneven character development hold back the fourth star I so desperately want to bestow, it is testament to Feretta's skill that I already feel invested in the characters even with so little background. As it stands, the comic holds enormous promise, and its author is especially distinguished for maintaining active correspondence with her audience throughout its production. I sincerely hope that in serveral years' time I may return with an even more favourable review.
02:56am 07/20/2015
 
  i *Slightly Damned LV
Reading the zeroeth chapter is a bit like being in purgatory...
...which is appropriate since that is basically where it takes place.

Which makes the prologue actually kind of amusing. The story doesn't progress, and you wonder "why am I reading this?"
Its not bad, as much as it isn't good. A limbo of sorts. That lasts about 90 strips...
If you can get through it, you have just had a taste of what the characters have just gone through!
It isn't clear if it was on purpose or not. It could just be bad writing while the author hits their stride.

The comic stops being bland and turns into an interesting adventure after about 90 strips. the strips between 90-120 are an accurate indicator of where the comic is going, so if you decided to muscle your way into it, try to get at least that far. Alternatively, you could skip the first 88 comics and start at 89.

But enough about the slow start.

The characters are a colorful and relatable bunch of misfits. The writing is not amazing, but the story and characters are fun enough to draw you in and keep you reading. By the time you get through the large archive (700+), you will be sad that it's over. You believe the loyalty, and you believe their motivations. As long as you are here more for the cuteness (massive art improvement!) and the character development, you should have a good time.
01:40am 07/06/2015
by cpam
(Unrated)
  i Adam4d
Worst. Strip. Ever.
And that's going some, because I've read some pretty bad drivel in my time. This is far less a comic strip than a thinly veiled vehicle for preaching... and does so in a very condescending manner at that. It's humorless, with barely competent drawings, and just needs to hammer it's message into your skull; I couldn't even rate this a single star. If you're really in the mood for some strong fundamentalist Christian POV being hammered at you -- and you just need a choir to sing with -- then this may be the strip for you. For anybody else, I'd recommend GARFIELD; if you're hungering for something more spiritual, try ZEN PENCILS.
07:34pm 06/30/2015
Way different and cool comic. Suggested by a friend.
My friend told me about this comic and i checked it out. it's really different and cool. i love the characters and the dialog. it's really funny and well done. Highly recommend it!
09:51am 06/19/2015
Mirror, mirror...
Added at creator's request. :)
08:51pm 06/06/2015
MRiaN: I’d much like to like it more
The short version: “My Roomate is a Nightmare” is a comic I enjoy just enough to wish it was better.

This comic starts with a bit of vague lore about gods, then follows a dark-elf-looking fellow who I assume to be the god of nightmares. He enters his bedroom to find a naked satyr boy lying on his bed. The two get close, and just as I start to wonder if I’ve unwittingly picked up a yaoi comic…

… it was all just a dream.

I don’t like this at the best of times, when a story starts with one character for a while, then suddenly switches to our “real” protagonist. This is especially bad when the fakeout protagonist was someone as interesting as the god of nightmares, and the real protagonist is an ordinary girl in an ordinary world. However, I stick with it here, mostly because the art is really, really good. Seriously. It reminds me of Don Bluth films or other classic animated movies from my childhood. The way characters are drawn especially stands out in my mind, what with their big, expressive eyes and smooth anatomy.

So, I stick with the comic and learn what I can. The new protagonist is a slightly chubby, freckled dark-skinned girl, which is a rare sight to see as a protagonist, so that’s quite a plus. She does ordinary stuff: stays up late writing, only manages to finish two sentences (I can relate), wakes up late, grabs a quick breakfast on her way to work, doesn’t pay attention and nearly runs over something. Then, the comic reveals that she nearly ran over…

…a lamia (woman on top, snake on the bottom)?!

Okay. Recap: at first, we were in a fantasy world. But that was all just a dream. Then we’re in the real world, with internet and computers and jobs. But now the real world is a fantasy world? There are lamias? And fairies, and griffons, and centaurs, and the protagonist’s boss is a drider (woman on top, spider on bottom)?!

This all comes to a head at one point when one of our protagonist’s coworkers says that there’s “an interesting queue” forming. The problem is, when we the readers see the queue, I don’t know what’s interesting about it. Is it that all of them are wearing black? Or that most of them are holding books? Or that there’s a dragon in front of the queue, or a cow-person in the back of the queue holding a sign reading “End of line”?

I don’t know what’s interesting in this world, because I don’t know what’s normal in this world.

What’s worse, this comic has played the “Ha! Tricked you! It’s actually…” card twice. I honestly don’t trust it to not reveal that everything was just a dream again, or perhaps some elaborate costume event.

This all is made worse by an odd artistic decision: every page (except the first) is a single panel. I don’t know what they were going for with this, but it really kills the pacing. In most comics, if the protagonist were to 1) brush her teeth, 2) throw on a shirt, 3) run downstairs and 4) grab a muffin while 5) running out the door, then all those parts would be part of a montage of panels on one or two pages. Here? Each of those actions is its own page. This can really slow down reading the comic, especially with a slower Internet connection that takes around four or five seconds to load a new page. Some might tell me that I could load multiple pages with an RSS feed. I would reply that if I have to download third-party software to make a comic more bearable to read, then there’s a bigger problem at work here.

I might sound like I hate this comic, but I really don’t. The artwork is beautiful, and the concept is interesting. There’s a modern world that is also populated by mythological creatures. Heck, some of the characters have been described as a “god” or a “deity.” What does the physical presence of deities mean for this world? How do oddly-shaped creatures like griffons and centaurs and lamias effect things, not to mention the creatures that can fly? Is there magic? Is it restricted to magical creatures? How are normal humans seen in this world? Is the protagonist even a normal human?

These are questions I genuinely want the answers to, and I’ll gladly keep reading, if for no other reason than the lovely art. However, this one does worry me. There are over a hundred pages so far, and the characters in the comic’s banner have yet to interact. There have been no sign of roommates or nightmares, despite both being promised in the comic’s title. While this all is troublesome, I still feel like a bit more refinement could bring this comic’s writing up to the standard set by the art. Go for it, writer. I’m rooting for you.

Well, except for when the satyr was updating his “Faebook.” Bad writer. Go to your room and think about what you’ve done.
eXTReMe Tracker
Belfry Webworks