The Belfry WebComics Index

Recent Reviews:

08:35pm 04/04/2014
 
  i Kwahtrooyoonuhvurs ALNVX
The epic has just begun.
Please stay tuned for kwahtrooyoonuhvurs. The story has just begun and it gets really intense really quickly.
02:30pm 03/24/2014
(Unrated)
  i Broodhollow
Great Story
I love a good mystery and this one has me hooked. It's very suspenseful and quirky. I can't wait to see how it ends and wish it was already finished, so I could just read it all now.
02:28pm 03/24/2014
(Unrated)
  i City Folk
Awesome Characters
I love the art style of this comic. The characters are very cute and funny.
02:27pm 03/24/2014
(Unrated)
  i Addanac City
Always Funny
This is a clever and funny comic that always gets a laugh out of me.
12:03pm 02/25/2014
Compelling, story-centric and fresh
I hate D&D sessions and comics that bite off more than they can realistically chew. This strip does the exact opposite.

The comic is about a group of gamers playing campaigns of D&D. It's NOT about the game of D&D that they are playing. It sticks to the emotions and troubles of the players, NOT the characters. I gamed for just a year, and recognize many of these emotions, and they feel real. Probably you don't need to game to enjoy this, because the game is only the setting that these players struggle in.

And it isn't the only arena in which they struggle.

Real life, as presented by this comic, is similarly realistic and compelling. The characters manage to balance their interesting dichotomies and idiosyncrasies in a way that begs you to keep reading.

Scott Kurtz is a veteran artist and storyteller. He thrives in this setting. Give it a try!

I have a "all the good comics get 4 stars" rule, that is only superseded when a comic is truly great. It is a young comic, but it already has the hallmarks of a great strip, and there is nothing negative to pin on this one yet. For now, this is getting 5 stars.
07:44am 01/12/2014
 
  i *Bug Martini
fantastic one-shots
Formerly "Bug", this comic is a series of short humorous situations. They are VERY funny.
The author's process of coming up with ideas is "think of a stupid idea, pursue", and he does it to great effect.
You will be able to judge the quality for yourself while reading any 10 consecutive comics.
09:27am 01/11/2014
READ NAO
This is the cutest and sweetest comic ever, especially if you like bunnies!
03:42am 01/09/2014
Strong Plot, Good 3D Graphics
This is one of those comics where the plot and the dialogue are stronger than the visuals. The comic uses 3D graphics that are good, but at times, it suffers from lighting issues and stiff characters. Still, the comic comes out three times per week and usually has at least four distinct panels.

The comic was rebooted when the author decided to change the relationship between Buck and Bonnie into a more distant, not as cordial one. Quite a few comics were deleted from the beginning as a result, and there are some plot gaps in what remains. Returning to the beginning and redoing the events leading up to the start of the current incarnation of the comic would be a major benefit to the overall universe of the comic. Still, the holes are pretty small and getting fewer as the story progresses.

This is definitely a comic for those who like good writing as much as they like good drawing.
12:08am 12/17/2013
 
  i *Kaspall LV
Exceptional long-running mystery.
Kaspall. At over four hundred pages this long running consistently well written and drawn webcomic has a beginning, a middle, and looks to be on track to a proper ending as well. When finished it will easily make my top-5 list of completed webcomics. Read it.

Kaspall. This city is located a step above the realm of dreams and functions a sand trap of the multiverse, which is why everything from dragons to cyberneticly augmented humans have gotten stuck living in a victorian-alchemy tech level populated primarily by anthropomorphic animals, some of whom are psionic-magic users. The two primary things the off-worlders who wandered in have in common are (a) they have no known method for returning home and (b) they are usually homesick.

I won’t spoil any of the mystery or adventure by describing the plot, but I will suggest starting with the ‘About’ page at: <http://www.kaspall.com/about>. Again, READ IT!
06:29am 11/30/2013
Short and Sporadic, but brilliantly fresh
Clearly written by a crazy biologist in love with their field. The passion is clear and contagious, and you can't help but get swept up in the absurdity.

The jokes are over subject matter you may have never studied, but we, as the uninformed readers, are NOT excluded. We are invited to revel in the beauty and mystery of the world around us...and to laugh heartily at it.

11:31am 11/18/2013
4-Star story, 2-Star graphics.
Welcome to the Universe, chosen hero. The Evil Empire (in name) has brought us peace, stability, and prosperity - so whatever you do, for the love of all that is good, PLEASE don't accidentally overthrow it.

This unique perspective on heroes and empires is worth a read, 'read' being the operative word. The quick sketch-graphics exist only to add context to the speech balloons, so don't bother come here for eye-candy.
10:14pm 11/04/2013
 
  i Bends, The AL
Great comic.
This comic is a fascinating neo-noire crime comic with some social commentary.
05:03am 10/26/2013
 
  i *Curtailed
Refreshingly Real
Its slice of life comic about a guy and a girl...
But it doesn't do all the awkward stuff, or the other annoying tropes that seem to be required for such things.
They even make fun of the unconventional nature of the comic in at least one strip.

Curtailed will make you smile, and it is hard to put down.

Very cute, very uplifting.
01:01am 10/07/2013
Super Cute, Very Funny
Chances are good that you will fall in love with this comic from the first strip.
It brought back many great memories, and the characters are wonderful. The art is so aesthetic, and features limited line-work for our protagonist.
Check it!
05:54am 09/05/2013
 
  i *Penny Arcade LV
A once good strip dragged down by toxic attitudes.
Penny Arcade was once a good strip. The vulgarity and obnoxious rants were sparing, and limited. Penny arcade used to be able to have many strips go by poking fun at the games industry, or even telling quite interesting stories, without ever making potty humour or deriding the vulnerable. Then over time the vulgarity and obnoxious rants have become the point, and the quality of the strip has suffered too much.

Mike "Gabe" Krahulik's doubling down on "Dickwolves" and saying it was wrong to apologise for insulting rape victims, and being entirely unrepentant about his transphobic and hateful speech, is the cultural breaking point for me. He is too close to the Dave Sim event horizon to credit anything he wants to say in his comics, which just makes it hard to enjoy in context. And without context, the comics are mainly just ranting trash, exploitation and shock potty humour.

It is perhaps time they left the stage, and retired the strip.
05:07am 08/20/2013
 
  i *Xkcd ALV
Sticks and Stones Hurt my Funny Bone
Draw some stick people, add what is added here, and hilarity ensues. Seriously funny stuff indeed, and so simple and streamlined.
05:03am 08/20/2013
Slightly Demented Array of Fun
There is some really fun stuff here. A sorta Far Side meets a warped kinda Cathy. I don't know if that description even makes sense, but hey, there it is anyway.
12:32am 07/14/2013
(Unrated)
  i Cloud Factory, The
Save this for later, if only for the art
The creator placed fourth on the incredible "Strip Search" competition hosted by Penny Arcade. She was far and away the best artist, and her level of quality is epic.
The story and characters also look good, but we are only 5 strips in. I have every reason to expect good things out of Lexxy.
12:43am 07/12/2013
 
  i *Sinfest AL
Full of feminism now.
It's gone to crap. Full of feminism now.
06:00am 07/10/2013
Gorgeous strip complimented by strong writing
The start is whimsical and silly but not out of inexperience. It is the perfect prologue to the adventure about to unfold. The story takes place in unique and intriguing arcs that escalate methodically and purposefully. It is easy to get lost in the series of worlds, and though the build up hasn't yet panned out, the quality of the writing leaves no doubt that our time and patience will be well rewarded.

In the meantime, laugh at the two lovable protagonist as they stumble forwards, and marvel at the consistent and beautiful art.
eXTReMe Tracker
Belfry Webworks